PDA

View Full Version : Welding... Scotty/bjt/anyone....

ataDude
03-05-2009, 09:59 PM
... else with the knowledge.

I may need to weld a rod to the frame as the upper part of of an isolated tail pipe hanger for one side of the dual-sided mufflers I'm building. I used the stock rubber isolator/rod for the left side but am scratching my head for the right. I have the rubber and steel rod but....

Question: With all of the micro-processors we have on board... even with the battery disconnected... is there a potential for harming the processors using my little old 110V / 80 amp wire welder?

Help!

Roaddog2
03-05-2009, 10:07 PM
Worst thing that can happen it could end up looking like Brians :spyder::joke:

ataDude
03-05-2009, 10:12 PM
Worst thing that can happen it could end up looking like Brians :spyder::joke:

Oh, boy. Now, I'll sleep well. :yikes: :D

MSGTDOC
03-05-2009, 10:34 PM
I'VE BEEN A WELDER FOR 30 YEARS AND MY WELDER IS A PULSE WITH ONBOARD COMPUTER CHIP. DISCONNECT THE BATTERY AND YOU SHOULD BE FINE. MAJOR CONCERN IS GAS FUMES. BUT OTHER THAT THAT IF YOU DISCONNECT THE BATTERY YOU SHOULD BE FINE. I'VE ADDED HOLDING PIPES TO MY WELDER FOR THE STINGER AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. GOOD LUCK

ataDude
03-05-2009, 10:37 PM
Thanks!

I'VE BEEN A WELDER FOR 30 YEARS AND MY WELDER IS A PULSE WITH ONBOARD COMPUTER CHIP. DISCONNECT THE BATTERY AND YOU SHOULD BE FINE. MAJOR CONCERN IS GAS FUMES. BUT OTHER THAT THAT IF YOU DISCONNECT THE BATTERY YOU SHOULD BE FINE. I'VE ADDED HOLDING PIPES TO MY WELDER FOR THE STINGER AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. GOOD LUCK

gjco
03-05-2009, 10:40 PM
I use to weld at a company that contracted to halliburton. we did all of there maintenance and fab work on all of there trailers and 18 wheelers. When we did all the welding all we did is disconnect the batteries. With all the welding that we did on the Kenworths we never had a problem. I would not hesitate to disconnect the batteries and weld on my own bike.

Sara
03-05-2009, 10:43 PM