PDA

View Full Version : Has your Spyder hurt your two-wheel riding skills?

Tanshanomi
02-20-2016, 06:54 AM
I took my little Honda 125 out for a ride yesterday, and I noticed that I was habitually stopping using the rear brake only. I have been riding motorcycles for 35 years and would have NEVER done that prior to buying my Spyder. Fortunately, my RS-S has a manual trans, so at least I've stayed proficient with a clutch lever. (That's part of the reason I decided against buying an Aprilia Mana automatic bike a few years ago.)

Have any of you who ride both Spyders and motorcycles found that it has affected your habits and skills, relating to braking, shifting or bike handling?

Vt. Rider
02-20-2016, 07:07 AM
I haven't ridden on 2 wheels since getting my Spyder, but hope to return to 2 wheels soon. I'm a bit apprehensive about my riding technique since I've been "spoiled" with no clutch or front brake. When I first started riding the Spyder, upon braking or downshifting, I kept reaching for that invisible, non-existent break lever. At least the paddle shift kept my clutch hand busy.

Grandpot
02-20-2016, 08:01 AM
I ride my RT-S and Valkyrie equally. The only thing I have to pause and think about is the difference between the way I get on them.

BajaRon
02-20-2016, 09:00 AM
No, hasn't hurt at all. Since I was concerned about this very thing I installed a hand brake on my Spyder. Use it all the time on both my Spyder and my 2 wheeled alternative. Love my hand brake! Would not leave home without it!

Highwayman2013
02-20-2016, 10:45 AM
The only problem I have is remembering to downshift my two wheeler when stopping after riding the RTL http://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=124480&stc=1SE5.

Chupaca
02-20-2016, 10:50 AM
I haven't gotten on a two wheeler since I got the spyder and really have little intrest at all. I do feel it would take a block or two to regain the controls...:thumbup:

SPECTACUALR SPIDERMAN
02-20-2016, 11:04 AM