PDA

View Full Version : Warping Instrument Cluster

Dudley
02-07-2009, 03:09 PM
HI, all. I am a fairly new SE5 owner, 11-18-08. I have been reading a lot of threads about the Spyder, all of them very informative. I have been riding 2 wheels since 1966 (every bike with a windshield) and I have experienced a first with the Spyder. I am not blaming the windshield for what happened, but hopefully this post can help other riders avoid what happened to me. My instrument cluster warped badly. My dealer changed it without any hesitation and called BRP about it. BRP said it was caused by my after-market windshield.. I have a CalSci XL windshield. So I did a few checks on the windshield and the sun. The sun reflecting into the back side (convex) portion of the shield (the strongest point being the vertical center), with the sun at about a 2 o'clock position causes a focal point of light (like a magnifying glass) that is extremely hot, and hits directly on the instruments. This was proven by my second cluster starting to warp after about 45 minutes (I was in the dealership visiting) parked in the position where the sun was just right. I am thankful it wasn't any longer or this cluster would have been toast. I don't have any knowledge of what makes things happen, but it seems like the decals under the needles are really cheap if they warp with heat. For those of us who live in ares of the country that really get hot (Southwest US, AZ desert, etc.), triple-digits for days, many times weeks on end, this problem may be just the beginning as more Spyders are sold. BRP has an accessory item to protect the instruments (no pic available). They don't say if it's to protect from the sun or not. If it is to protect from the sun (cluster can't take the heat), then it should be available to all who want one at no cost. I sent an email to SpyderTeam@BRP.com. No answer as of yet. Meanwhile I am using the pre-ride check list to cover the cluster, and also putting a white rag over everything.