PDA

View Full Version : Frunk Gasket

rwc
11-23-2015, 03:34 PM
Does anyone have a tip on how to keep the Frunk (Really don't like t5hat term)Gasket in place when trying to take bag out. Mine comes off every time I touch it. This becomes frustrating when in a hurry.

Thanks RWC

Jim&Teresa
11-23-2015, 03:42 PM
I've used double stick tape at a few points around the gasket. It is not perfect, but does keep it from getting lightly bumped off. When doing this, make sure you press it all the way down and surfaces are clean in order for it to stick better.

It's a quick fix, my 2014 RT seems better than my 2012 RT for whatever reason!

Good luck! :thumbup:

jerpinoy
11-23-2015, 11:41 PM
Checkout some of adhesive glue use on boats.

Andy Cserny
11-24-2015, 12:41 AM
I have had extensive experience with marine glues/caulks and 3M 5200 has probably the highest adhesive properties, it is pricey, white, messy to use and in my experience it has been disappointing. Seam Grip used by the camping community is a good adhesive, dries clear and flexible, is available in camping goods stores. Like in all adhesive applications it is essential to clean both surfaces with alcohol, key the shiny plastic surface of the frunk with clean unused 80 grit sandpaper, wipe again with alcohol then apply the adhesive an leave it alone as per product labeling time to cure.
Andy

tobor9
11-24-2015, 01:20 AM
Spyderpop's got a frunk gasket that stays on REAL good!it is much better then BRP's,he is a sponser and has great products.:yes:

opiewhan
11-24-2015, 07:28 AM
Checkout some of adhesive glue use on boats.

Just remember if you glue it may be on for good..I just deal with putting the gasket back on each time for NOW..It is frustrating yes:banghead::banghead:

Grandpot
11-24-2015, 07:57 AM
I use RTV sealant. It holds well, but can be pulled off if you need to. Comes in Black or Clear.

armyspydervet
11-24-2015, 07:59 AM