PDA

View Full Version : Programming keys using the dealer master key (2010-2013)

finless
10-25-2015, 10:10 AM
Well.... Now that I got my master key, I went to program 2 more keys and HOLY COW is the service manual so wrong in many areas!!!!

Seriously, the service manual is wrong all over the place with this master key programming procedure!!!

I have to think that BRP must have issued a TSB or TST on Bossweb about this. Dealers probably screwed this up many times.

I got stuck with only one working key.
I called Shawn Smoak and another guy locally that service Spyders. What I got was "Yes the old models were a pain in the rear to program, keep trying".
Well I gave up trying per the service manual and starting trying different processes until I hit it.

Bottom line this might in fact be the reason some people cannot park for more than a week or so without their battery going dead.

Don't believe me... Watch this video I shot showing all the issues. It's long winded but shows how wrong the service manual is and the issues you can have and shows how to do it properly!

Disclaimer. This is on my 2011 RTS with latest BRP software updates by BUDS from the dealer. I do not know if 2010, 2012 and 2013 also have this issue!

Please note: You cannot just "add" a key! When you program the first key it erases all other keys from the ECM. You must reprogram all other keys you have into the ECM or they will not work. If you went to a dealer to get an extra key, PLEASE check that all your keys actually do work and start your Spyder!

Key points:
1) The manual says wait for "next key" to appear. That never happens. It's NEW KEY
2) The manual doesn't tell you to press mode after turning off the key the first time. You have to!
3) The manual says you must program at least 2 keys minimum. Not true. You can program only one and get success screen.
4) The manual says if you do not program 2 keys the following will happen