PDA

View Full Version : cooling fan rotation on 2013 rt limited

Exditchdigger
08-24-2015, 03:50 PM
I purchased the rt with 9500 miles from a dealer, Had the recall done and love it.
Decided to install a block of plate on right side because of heat on right foot and noticed the fan was blowing the air forward
I've been a mechanic all my life and this doesn't make sense to me . Hoping someone can enlighten me Exditcndigger

PaladinLV
08-24-2015, 04:21 PM
When the Spyder is at rest/stopped and the fan comes on it blows the hot air away from you.
When moving and the fan comes on, it blows the air towards you! :D

AJ

I purchased the rt with 9500 miles from a dealer, Had the recall done and love it.
Decided to install a block of plate on right side because of heat on right foot and noticed the fan was blowing the air forward
I've been a mechanic all my life and this doesn't make sense to me . Hoping someone can enlighten me Exditcndigger

loisk
08-24-2015, 05:08 PM
I thought the reverse fan was only on 14 and later (1330) RTs, not 13 twins ?

Chupaca
08-24-2015, 06:26 PM
wonder if the installed that feature as part of the recall...?? :dontknow: as far as I know it was started with the 14's...

loisk
08-24-2015, 06:45 PM
Good point chupaca! I wonder...

oldguyinTX
08-24-2015, 09:21 PM
There is no reversal of the radiator fan on the 2013 RT's either as stock or as part of the recall. If yours is in fact reversing, you are indeed one lucky camper.

Cruzr Joe
08-24-2015, 09:30 PM

:agree:

Bob Denman
08-25-2015, 07:32 AM
Could this have been a modification by the previous owner? :dontknow:

Magdave
08-25-2015, 08:43 AM
There were a number of "Test Pilots" for the BRP heat fix in January that had the reversing radiator mod done as part of it. I remember reading at the end of the test they had a choice of returning to stock or keeping the changes. You may have gotten one of those bikes. :thumbup:

Dan McNally
08-25-2015, 08:59 AM