PDA

View Full Version : Captain's Mods

captainryder
01-09-2009, 10:48 PM
Never really have started a thread to keep up with my mods. So I will start it now.:)

You can see below in my profile an updated list. But tonight I'm reporting on one of three major modifications I will complete by summer '09. Have planned a 2500 mile trip to Black Hills-Wyoming-Yellowstone-Tetons-Utah and back home to Kansas City via Steamboat Spgs-Rocky Mtn Park-Kansas. 2 weeks

I just installed my 4" Neon Magic Man risers. They fit perfectly !!! Thanks Neon and all on this site for great hints and instructions. :clap::clap::clap:

Mind you I am not a mechanic..... The install only took 2hrs 30 min this afternoon. That was with only instructions and hints from everyone here. Only had to cut one tie around the wire bundle to pull enough of the cable up and out for the SE5 clutch wiring. The right side already was ample. I haven't torqued the bolts as I am awaiting my Russel Day Long Saddle build date (Feb 17th) . (Will lock down the bolts for a final fit when that is accomplished).

Got finished so early, that when my wife came home we took a ride. I had already removed the hinge bolts on the seat, so I just placed it back on without re-connecting the sensor using our body weight to keep it on..

If you want to know what fault the bike registers... well the traction control warning light comes on and the digital scrolls "Seat sensor failed". But the bike starts and runs fine. Got a quick bite to eat and then we took some final pictures for Russell Day Long of both of us sitting on the bike with the new risers and back into the garage before the snow flurries expected tonight.

Already I don't know why I've waited so long for this modification. This has got to be the best modification of the Year 2008. Neon Magic Man is Man of the Year for sure!