PDA

View Full Version : HUGGING THE CENTER LINE

Questions
08-07-2015, 10:06 AM
I've been riding various motorcycles for 11 years now and one thing that I see a lot is riders hugging the center line. All it takes is a gust of wind, a distracted driver from the opposite lane etc. to cause a huge accident. There has been a few times that I have had to dodge drivers that drift across the lane. Anybody else notice this? :lecturef_smilie:

Chupaca
08-07-2015, 10:09 AM
I on the other hand prefer the outter edge (unless there is a cliff or railing) so that in an emergency stop I am not part of a pressing situation....:thumbup:

Bob Denman
08-07-2015, 10:10 AM
You've got to pick a spot somewhere... :dontknow:
The outer edges of the roadway often have pavement issues that you'll want to avoid...
The center will have the "Grease Patch"... putting a tire directly into it may not be your first choice either. :shocked:

wyliec
08-07-2015, 10:26 AM
On a 2 wheeler, it makes it easier to be seen by a car passing another car, when you're (a 2 wheeler) up in front, and close to the center line.

MisterP
08-07-2015, 11:26 AM
I would never hug either side of a lane. Staying toward the center line but not on it makes you more visible. Hugging the edge encourages impatient drivers to pass you using the lane. If they misjudge you have nowhere to go but off the road.

R FUN
08-07-2015, 11:34 AM
In Canada we have a lot of wildlife, dear, moose etc. If they dart out of the underbrush or deep grass on the shoulder you dont have much of a chance if you are riding the shoulder. I prefer to ride near the center line which gives you a cushon on both sides.
Roger

cuznjohn
08-07-2015, 11:38 AM
on two wheels i always rode to either side of the center of the lane due to oil in the centers, and never directly behind another bike. with my rt i now ride in the center just like a car with just the rear wheel making contact with the center of the lane

SpyderAnn01
08-07-2015, 11:55 AM