PDA

View Full Version : Fuse 7 to 8 for charging...

gparr
03-06-2015, 11:41 AM
First off...I know I am a dufus when it comes to mechanical issues...but I am a musician...and I use the other side of my brain.

I have read where I need to change my fuse from 7 to 8 so I can plug my battery maintainer in the 12v plug in the trunk.

I have pulled the fuse panel off of the right side...and they are labeled 8-1 readin left to right.

Can someone look at the pic and tell me what I am supposed to do since 8 and 7 already have fuses in them?

Thanks!

billybovine
03-06-2015, 11:59 AM
Ignore the numbering molded in. Count from your left to right. Pull out the yellow fuse with the number 5 on it. Reinstall it 1 slot to your right from where it was removed.

You did not share what year your Spyder is. If it is a 2014 look at page 150 in your manual for further reference.

Bob Denman
03-06-2015, 12:11 PM
:agree: If it's a 2014; the manual does cover this process in decent detail. :thumbup:

OverHillAndDale
03-06-2015, 12:13 PM
First, are you looking at the right side fusebox from your perspective sitting on the bike? At first I thought the right side was with me looking into the trunk from the front, and I was backwards.

On my bike, Nanny come on when I had a fuse in both 6 and 7. 8 is unused (2014 RT). The instructions read "NOTE: When fuse 6 is installed, 12 V power outlet is only operational when ignition switch is at ON position. Whenfuse 7 is installed, 12 V power outlet is always operational."

If you're looking at the right fusebox (and your instructions are the same) then putting a fuse in 8 will do nothing, you want one in 7, and 6 should be empty.

OverHillAndDale
03-06-2015, 12:15 PM
and... billybovine is right about ignoring the molded in numbering.....

billybovine
03-06-2015, 12:19 PM