PDA

View Full Version : Why the F3 Photos don't quite work

MRH
02-14-2015, 12:05 AM
I finally got to see and sit on an F3 (no test ride available). Here's what struck me that the photos just don't convey. As an RT owner, I think of Spyders at a particular scale. The F3 isn't small, but is much smaller than an RT. That scale difference isn't captured in the photos we've seen (nobody's fault, really), and when you see it in person the John Deere effect melts away. It looks just like the photos, and yet it doesn't look like them at all.

The F3 is so much closer to what many two wheeled riders expect in terms of the feel of a motorcycle, at least in my opinion.

As a photographer, I can't see how to solve the problem, because even putting a rider on the F3 doesn't really convey the smaller scale of the body.

I have a feeling that many of those who don't think they like the styling will have a different opinion when they see it in person.

Chupaca
02-14-2015, 12:22 AM
Like it is said...don't judge a book by it's cover...but I think everyone should see them in person. I am not partial to them but have seen them sat on them not interested in ryding them. They also seem to grow on folks in part because of their acceptance by the cruiser crowd. You see them in three directions...moving down from the RT's moving up from the RS, RSS and the ST's or first time buyers going straight for them...to each his own..!! :yes::yes:

Dragonrider
02-14-2015, 12:40 AM
I sat on one & took a test ride before forming my opinion..

zuni
02-14-2015, 11:47 AM
Took one look at the pictures and said "What the hell were they thinking". Took a test ride in Daytona and now one sits next to our RTs in the garage. I think you are right about the perspective issue of photographs. It is better in person and even better on the road.

CJ JAX

nakerr
02-14-2015, 01:00 PM