PDA

View Full Version : Baja Ron's RT shock adjuster - Report

NautiBrit
01-21-2015, 10:38 PM
I'm one of Ron's test pilots for the front shock pre-load adjuster that he's developing and I'm providing this update with his permission. To provide some background, I've been riding for over 40 years and currently have a 2013 RT-S and a 1997 Honda Valkyrie. I started on Spyders in 2008 with a GS that I accessorized for touring and put over 30,000 miles on it before trading for the 2013 which now has over 27,000 miles. I installed Ron's sway bar on both of the Spyders and was pleased with the results, so was very happy to install and test ride the adjuster. I'm currently running OEM front tires with about 11,000 miles on them (they were replaced under warranty due to bad alignment from the factory). My rear tire is Kumho Ecsta that has about 15,000 miles on it and will be replaced in another 5,000 miles or so. Pressures are kept at 19psi front and 32-34psi rear.

To save you having to read the entire post, the adjuster is a very worthwhile addition, adding increased stability, control and roll resistance.

For those that want the details - The shocks on the 2013 and 2014 are slightly different diameters and the initial adjusters that I received were for the 2014. Once I had the correct size, I removed the original shocks, removed the springs, installed the adjuster and re-installed the shocks. Ron's instructions were complete and everything needed for the install was included in the kit. The lower shock bolts were easy to remove and replace, but the uppers were a tight fit, especially on the left side. Unless you remove body parts, you will be working blind, but the instructions are clear and comprehensive. Again, my Spyder is a 2013, if you have a 2014 or 2015 your install may vary. The entire process took about 2 hours, and will be subject to the amount and type of your beverage of choice. Being an Englishman, I had a nice cuppa tea.