PDA

View Full Version : Eliminating "NANNY"

DriftersWay
10-20-2014, 05:14 AM
I'm thinking of building a show and go bike.
Has anyone ever tried to redo the computer
to eliminate the Nanny. Or replacing it with
an after market.

thanks

Bob Denman
10-20-2014, 06:44 AM
:shocked: The VSS is so integral, that it'd be a monster chore.
DrewNJ got his bike to run without a bunch of the sensors in place, but as I recall; it's still pretty far from perfect.

Art Mann
10-20-2014, 09:10 AM
I have been an engineer on the development team of several powertrain and antilock brake control modules for the automotive industry. The scope of that task, especially the software, is much greater than you would think. It is beyond the competence level of all but the most elite aftermarket designers. The Spyder market is so small that I doubt that any company with the necessary resources would be willing to undertake that task. The liability risk alone would discourage most developers.

I don't understand why anyone would want to disable such an invaluable feature. Stability control and ABS is why I chose the Spyder. I think it would be a very skilled rider indeed who could safely outperform an identical stock Spyder with these systems disabled.

BLUEKNIGHT911
10-20-2014, 09:18 AM
an after market.

thanks
:dontknow:.....My question is WHY is this necessary.................Mike :lecturef_smilie:

DrewNJ
10-20-2014, 09:22 AM

Chupaca
10-20-2014, 10:32 AM
let us know...photos of the show part would be nice especially before the "go" part...:roflblack: doable but tough..!!

Spyder Tony
10-20-2014, 11:25 AM
As more of a sport bike rider, I can totally understand WHY someone would want to disable the Nanny...but HOW is the operative question. Seems like the system is integrated throughout the bike.
I have learned to ryde within the limitations of the Nanny...but let me tell you, I still yearn for that adrenaline provided by the 90's Suzuki GL1000.