PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing a used Spyder RT?

Siara
10-20-2014, 04:21 AM
Hi everyone,

Since I'm a newbie regarding the Spyder in general I'd love to have your feedback on the matter. I've been riding a two-wheeled bike for all my life since it was legal to do so (27 years young now) but due to health issues I'm being forced to search for an alternative. I've done a testdrive on the 2014 Spyder RT basic model and it was manageable for sure. Now I'm currently saving up to purchase a basic 2014 RT model which is about € 25,000 over here. It might take me a few years to save up though.

HOWEVER...

The dealer himself currently has a Spyder RT-S (2010) for sale with no visible damage as well as a Spyder RT-Limited (2012) with visible scratches on the side panels. The 2010 model goes for € 15.000 while the 2012 goes for €17.000. How bad is the mileage on the editions of these years? Can I expect atleast 30mpg or will it be lower? Are these machines still viable to run for atleast 5 more years?

In short, should I save up for a new Spyder or are the second-hand spyders not all that bad? Not sure if the cost of the gas on these things are worth buying it secondhand or waiting it out and have better mileage on the more expensive new model...

I hate making these kind of decisions so feedback on the matter is much appreciated. Are there people out there still cruising around on the 2010 and 2012 editions?

Thank you in advance for your feedback, I appreciate it.

Eagle1
10-20-2014, 06:05 AM
We bought our 2010 rt in Oct 13 and it had 2300mi, bought 2 yr warranty, we are over 14,000 miles and getting approx 30 mpg. Replaced rear tire at 13,100 mi, went to a Khumo. Replaced air shock under warranty. I recommend the warranty, Great ryde for short or long rydes. Very happy,! Enjoy the ryde.

warp10
10-20-2014, 06:43 AM