PDA

View Full Version : fogging oil

czdaryle
10-15-2008, 12:18 PM
Okay I know you guys are getting sick of me asking this stuff on storing the spyder, but it is my first time doing this and I want to do it right, as right as I can. I want to use fogging oil and I read where you should do it in two spots. One is when it is running spray it in the intake. I take it I just remove the air filter and spray it. Second is remove spark plugs and spray in each. The part I don't get here is I read where you want to move the cyclinders by hand(flywheel) to get the whole cyclinder coated. How do I do this with the spyder? Thanks again for any help you can give me...winter is ah comin'

NancysToy
10-15-2008, 02:03 PM
Okay I know you guys are getting sick of me asking this stuff on storing the spyder, but it is my first time doing this and I want to do it right, as right as I can. I want to use fogging oil and I read where you should do it in two spots. One is when it is running spray it in the intake. I take it I just remove the air filter and spray it. Second is remove spark plugs and spray in each. The part I don't get here is I read where you want to move the cylinders by hand(flywheel) to get the whole cylinder coated. How do I do this with the spyder? Thanks again for any help you can give me...winter is ah comin'
I use fogging oil in my bikes, but I do not spray in the intake. For a two-stroke outboard, it is important to do this because the oil in the fuel lubricates the lower end. When they are not running, this diluted oil runs off the bearings and corrosion can set in. A four-stroke engine like the Spyder is less critical. Turning over the engine will spread the oil over the entire cyclinder. An outboard has an exposed flywheel, for the Spyder you could use the starter briefly.