PDA

View Full Version : 2015 Can-Am Spyder F3 – First Ride Test Report

sledmaster
10-06-2014, 02:52 PM
I just got back from riding the F3 up in Quebec for a couple of half-days. Here is what I learned. I have previously shared bits and pieces of this content in previous posts, but have wrapped it all into one cohesive presentation. Or, at least I tried!

For those who do not know me, I am a professional snowmobile test rider. I have been doing independent performance evaluations on all brands of snowmobiles for over 30 years. With this background, I was brought in on some of the original Spyder P0 & P1 prototype testing back in 2001, and again in 2005 on P3 prototypes. I was also able to perform pre-production evaluations in January of 2007. I currently own a 2008 GS and a 2013 ST-S and have purchased three Spyders with my own money out of my own pocket. To date I have logged over 80,000 miles on Spyders.
When the first spy photos of the 2015 Can-Am Spyder F3 leaked, I admit I was not all that impressed. Up to that point I had no knowledge of this new model. I really didn’t think much of the new look or seating position, as I am NOT a cruiser guy. Being a snowmobiler, I far prefer the riding position of the ST-S. Or, at least that was what I thought.