PDA

View Full Version : Seeking advice

Kriemer
09-28-2014, 03:05 PM
I love my 2012 RT-S-S! I have over 35 years experience on 2 wheels and I really want the Spyder to work out for me. I have almost 3000 miles on the clock and I still do not feel comfortable on my RT. I just don't seem to be able to get used to the steering. There are times when everything was great, but overall it scares me. I was a very fast rider on 2 wheels, but anything over 50 MPH makes me uncomfortable. The bike has been checked recently by my excellent dealer and they say that all is up to spec. I have Elkas all around and have Baja Rons sway bar and I am running 20lbs in the front tires and 30 in the rear. I have read all the offerings on this terrific forum, but I still haven't found the answer to my discomfort. I hope the collective wisdom on this site can offer me some sage advice!

ARtraveler
09-28-2014, 03:11 PM
Sorry to hear of your issues. Most are able to conquer the :spyder2: handling within 500 miles or so. Most of the time, overcontrolling seems to be a large part.

That said, it is surely possible that other things can be contributing to any issues.

:ani29:: Air pressure in the tires.
:ani29:: Shock issues
:ani29:: Suspension issues
:ani29:: Alignment issues
:ani29:: Bad tires

The fact that the dealer says it is in spec, does not guarantee that. It is possible that they may have missed something. Sometimes, it takes a good hard look by a good mechanical person.

My suggestion: Perhaps someone in your area could hook up with you and test drive your :spyder2:. Another set of eyes may catch something that has not been caught before.

Hoping you can get the problem(s) solved. Please keep us in the loop.

chad.attard.9
09-28-2014, 03:14 PM
get the front laser alignment done. Makes all the difference.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Dragonrider
09-28-2014, 03:22 PM