PDA

View Full Version : T5 Chip transponder key

Ernman5
08-18-2014, 01:27 PM
I have a 2013 RTS and I broke my key. I'm thinking of buying just any old transponder blank and moving my existing chip from the broken key to the new blank. Has anyone tried that?

I also found a place where you can get the T5 chip only. I'm not an expert but I believe it can be installed into any transponder key, that way I can make several inexpensive spares. Opinions?

http://www.mrlock.com/transponder-chip-jma-key-tp05?mv_pc=am

There are also many blank keys for Honda vehicles (and others) with T5 chips available on ebay. Has anyone tried to use one of those?

Bob Denman
08-18-2014, 01:46 PM
If you can move the chip over from the usted one; you couldn't ask for a better scenario! :2thumbs:
The T-5 is the right chip! But why jump through that hoop; if you don't have to? :D
If you DID have to get a T-5 for it; take it to a hardware store with your good key... They can probably clone it for you! nojoke

I'm taking all of my keys, and a T-12 equipped un-programmed aftermarket key to the dealer tomorrow... Let's see if they can make some magic happen! :D

DrewNJ
08-18-2014, 01:48 PM
It all sounds doable to me. Personally, I'd like to mount the chip permanently to the dash somewhere and use a normal non-chipped key. Nobody is hot wiring a spyder to steal it.....

Bob Denman
08-18-2014, 01:50 PM
I've started my 2010 with a dummy key... :thumbup:
But the chipped one had to be touching it, in order for the ignition process to occur. :shocked:
I don't know if you could mount the chip close enough to the switch... :dontknow:

ChasCS
08-18-2014, 01:59 PM
This is the second time I've read about guys busting their key. Was it already in the ignition, switch? I only want avoid duplicating your mistake... Thanks.

Chas

Tazzel
08-18-2014, 02:20 PM