PDA

View Full Version : Potential New Spyder Owner

rkicklighter
06-29-2014, 05:41 AM
First off, let me say thanks in advance to anyone for their advice and wisdom.

The wife and I are seriously thinking of going to a '14 RT-S SM6 at some point later this year (November-December time frame). Yes, I want the manual transmission and really won't buy anything else. My background, I have been riding since age 5, that's 49 years of experience on motorcycles of every type, shape and description. Including motocross and road racing in my earlier years. Although an electrical engineer by trade I build and customize bikes, cars and trucks in my spare time. I have mostly a full shop myself and access to a machine shop for custom parts.

Our current ride is a Harley Ultra Classic which we truly love. However, both of us are getting older every day, we both have knee problems, we are short people and honestly it is getting more and more difficult to safely handle this UC as when she is fully loaded for a long trip we're pushing 1200 pounds easy. This is the reason we are looking at the RT, from my standpoint it is more of a safety aspect than anything else and comfort a close second.

Our riding style runs the gamut from 80+ MPH several hundred mile jaunts on the interstate to back roads, twistys and mountains. It's nothing for us to ride 500 miles in a day just for lunch or rack up 2 to 3000 miles over the course of a 5 or 6 day trip. At some point after retirement in a few years we plan on hitting the four corners of the US. Now that's a trip!

Now that I have given you some background about us, a few questions.

Given our riding style, my 49 years on 2 wheels and coming from a big touring bike, what are the pitfalls I may encounter? The lack of a front brake lever is going to be one!