PDA

View Full Version : Oil Levels/check

ChicoFowler
06-23-2014, 11:41 AM
I picked up a 2014 RT Limited at Spyder Fest, trading in my 2012 RTS.
Getting ready for a 3000 mile trip to the east coast and back. Doing some maintenance checks on the bike and I noticed that the oil level "seems" to be low. Don't know about anyone else, but the dip stick is hard to read, since the oil is so clean.....anyway it appears to be right below the minimum mark. Now my 2012, except for the regular maintenance checks, I never had to add oil. As you can tell, I'm not a mechanical guy, and this may be obvious to some, but it seems my new Limited, with only 800 miles on it, should not be low on oil???
I plan to take a quart or 2 of oil with me, just as a precaution. What say you? And thanks.....

JustDennis
06-23-2014, 11:47 AM
Not unusual for a new machine to be a little low after 800 miles. Just keep an eye on it

krazykat
06-23-2014, 12:36 PM
I picked up a 2014 RT Limited at Spyder Fest, trading in my 2012 RTS.
Getting ready for a 3000 mile trip to the east coast and back. Doing some maintenance checks on the bike and I noticed that the oil level "seems" to be low. Don't know about anyone else, but the dip stick is hard to read, since the oil is so clean.....anyway it appears to be right below the minimum mark. Now my 2012, except for the regular maintenance checks, I never had to add oil. As you can tell, I'm not a mechanical guy, and this may be obvious to some, but it seems my new Limited, with only 800 miles on it, should not be low on oil???
I plan to take a quart or 2 of oil with me, just as a precaution. What say you? And thanks.....