PDA

View Full Version : Two old buddies

bruiser
06-09-2014, 05:43 PM
USN Master Chief Petty Officer and a Marine Sergeant Major, two old friends, met in a bar one day (It may be hard to imagine either a Sailor or a Marine ever being in a bar, but here’s the conversation which ensued). They began to discuss which of them had had the more difficult and dangerous 30 year career. The retired Marine begins: I graduated from high school, the next morning I was on the train for Parris Island, South Carolina.

“Following boot camp I found myself in a regiment assigned to the Iwo Jima assault. With my fellow Marines we fought our way to the top of Mount Suribachi. In Korea I was with Chesty Puller at Inchon, then we fought our way toward the Yalu River. In the cold Korean winter we fought at the Battle of Chosin Reservoir, I ended my career after Viet Nam where I spent 3 months in the Battle of Khe Sanh after sloshing through endless snake-filled rice paddies.”

The Navy Master Chief took a long draw on his bottle of beer looked him in the eye and said: "Typical lush Marine Corps assignments - all shore duty!"

Bob Denman
06-09-2014, 05:50 PM
That almost reminds me of a joke I once heard... :D
Question: Why did they use the Navy to transport the Marines everywhere?

Answer: Somebody would have started asking questions, if they had been transporting sheep instead! http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/16/16_3_158.gif

ValCruzSpyder
06-09-2014, 06:49 PM
Now THAT was funny!!! :roflblack::roflblack::roflblack:

We are the MARINE Taxi Service
MARINE = My A$$ Rides In Navy Equipment

Oldmanzues
06-09-2014, 07:50 PM