PDA

View Full Version : Steering

Vidman
05-21-2014, 07:10 AM
I'm not a mechanic but I do understand much about automotive/motorcycle steering and stability. I was asked to give my opinion on why I chose the Spyder over a "normal" trike. In the discussion one of the haters responded claims that spyder steering is servo controlled and stated for everyone to google Spyder steering problems. He stated he wanted mechanical connection to steering.

My understanding is that the steering is assisted electrically and not servo controlled. That the connection is mechanical and only assisted for stability and safety. Also, have the steering problems/complaints of the past been taken care of?

I love my 2014 RT. I do not have to defend that. However, some knowledge here would be great.

retread
05-21-2014, 07:35 AM
The steering is mechanical, electric assist, if it was servo only, you'd need the key on to steer it. Most non-owner Spyder "experts" don't want to be confused by facts, they've got their minds made up.

john

scooterexpress
05-21-2014, 07:36 AM
i haven't heard anyone ever complaining about a steering problems my 2011rts has never had a problem in fact i think the steering is so tight that to me is like a corvette steering very precise and quick to respond.like the steering assist when turning from a dead stop or backing in and out of parking spots.i read on here that the power steering goes away after a certain speed is reached because its not needed. well if there are complaits they will post here soon.

Bob Denman
05-21-2014, 07:39 AM
:agree: Don't confuse them with facts... :banghead:
If you want to have some fUN with them; mention how conventional trikes often exhibit understeer when the pace quickens...:shocked:
The two rear tires will want to push that single hoop up front in a straight line... you end up going wide in the turns! :yikes:

Vidman
05-21-2014, 08:04 AM