PDA

View Full Version : Fall shutdown

czdaryle
08-21-2008, 07:27 AM
I know it is a little early but fall in the North will be here soon. This is my first year with a bike and was wondering what are the steps in getting this thing ready for winter so I can start planning. One particular question is with the battery, do you leave it on trikle charge and leave it connected to the bike?? Do you use gas stabilizer? Any help would be appreciated. I ask now because I fiqure I only have about 6 - 8 weeks and want to start planning about storage etc... thanks

lightman02
08-21-2008, 07:36 AM
Good question, I know BRP says to change the oil with fresh oil before storage. Then they say to remove the bike from storage and just ride. I would think that leaving the older oil in the bike during storage and putting fresh oil in when your ready to start your season makes more sense. Myabee I'm wrong?? What does everyone else think?

AMTJIM
08-21-2008, 07:50 AM
Fresh oil when you store it...used oil, mainly non-synth, starts breaking down and acids can/do form. There's always a little fuel that gets past the pistons after recent running to contribute to oil problems in the long run. Fuel does go bad rather quickly once it starts going bad, another break down process like oil, so add that stabilizer. Keep the battery on a trickle charger. You can still run the bike with stabilizr in it...I would suggest on a break in the bad weather take it out for a good run to avoid any corrosion between tight tolerance spots that sit next to each other for long periods. Don't hesitate to go through the storage process again if you are not able to ride the machine for a long period.

Lamonster
08-21-2008, 07:50 AM
Snow tires:doorag:

dltang
08-21-2008, 08:00 AM
Heated Gloves and a Thermosuit, no shut down here unless there is snow or ice on the road or the wind chill is just too unbearable.

Roaddog2
08-21-2008, 08:08 AM