PDA

View Full Version : Spyder Value

R FUN
02-22-2014, 03:09 PM
I have been riding motorcycles for nearly 64 years.I raced snowmobiles for Bombardier in the sixties and with Jon Luke Bombardier in western Canada and the US .
Since retiring 20 years ago I have been associated with one of Bombardiers competitor dealers. A few years ago there was lack of snow in Canada and northern
US. Snowmobile sales was very poor which meant the manufacturer got stuck with hundreds if not thousands of unsold sleds.They ended up discounting them thousands of dollars to the dealers [does this sound familliar]. I hauled loads of them from the factory to the dealership and they sold them all at a great discount. This in turn devalued all the older sleds as you could buy a new one for less than your used one was worth. This in turn caused the currant year sleds not to sell Causing a deep discount the following year on those sleds. Has there been a lesson learned. Once the initial Hype is over how many faithful followers are willing to take the big loss on there currant ride just to get a new one, not me. I will be waiting to see if they end up with a backlog of unsold machines and will be dumping them too. I think if ALL the dealers could of got together and not taken the 2013s things would have been better for all of us, maybe not BRP.
Just this old coots thinking.

ARtraveler
02-22-2014, 03:59 PM
Close out 2014 will probably result in some very good deals. The issue for a lot of customers is that they can't wait.

IdahoMtnSpyder
02-22-2014, 04:20 PM
Close out 2014 will probably result in some very good deals. The issue for a lot of customers is that they can't wait.