PDA

View Full Version : Backrests - Which one?

Dat Guy
10-24-2013, 09:34 PM
Hi folks!

Can anyone share experiences with or recommend a good backrest? I've seen a couple so far. The Utopia Backrest and Smart Mount Backrest both look pretty good and have comparable pricing. Doesit help the ride? Or is it a waste of money?

Smart Mount

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AbRctbnVkg

Utopia

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhS9doWsWpM

Thanks!

SteveMac
10-24-2013, 09:53 PM
I have the Utopia. And it makes the ride much better for me. :thumbup:

SpyderAnn01
10-24-2013, 10:07 PM
Most of my Spyder miles have been without a backrest but I had a Utopia on my 2013 and I didn't think I liked it much until I started riding the 2011 without one. I didn't feel like I could adjust the Utopia the way I wanted it but I am finding my back getting tired riding without it now.

Magdave
10-24-2013, 11:01 PM
I like the Utopia it can be adjusted forward and back. It makes me ride more upward I tend to lean forward. I have shorter arms. I wish I could adjust it down just a hair more for my lower back but I can live with it. I suggest you use a piece of 3M double sided tape on it when you get the height adjusted between the 2 pieces it tends to wobble side to side ( unless you like that) mine is solid now adjusted to the lowest height and forward to my liking. It also lets me lean less in the turns I lean back unless it is sharp with no issues. I also ordered the leather post cover for more comfort for the wife. It matches the stitching of the seat too and looks to be a bit larger than the other one.:thumbup:

One additional thing is drill the holes one size bigger it makes for an easier install. Finding the bolt holes and getting the bolts started was the hardest part.

Chupaca
10-24-2013, 11:16 PM