PDA

View Full Version : Direct or indirect ?

Jeriatric
10-17-2013, 01:48 PM
It has been said that BRP addressed heat problems model year 2014. Reversing the fan direction would be a direct approach.

Dual radiators?

Maybe the tripple needed a larger cooling area than the current single radiator configuration would allow?

If so. Is that direct or indirect?

Just a thought and question. Not an attack

cuznjohn
10-17-2013, 01:56 PM
with the problems the 2013 owners are having, me included, it may be a cooling issue as far as a small radiator service. but they have used this setup b4 so it must work. i am new to spyders and really have no clue what type of cooling systems other bikes have. it could be a bad batch of thermostats not opening correctly, or the fan is not coming on enough to cool the bikes down ( a simple software fix for that i think ) but they know the problem exists and i really hope they can fix it

Dan McNally
10-17-2013, 04:44 PM
The radiator seems to cool my Spyder, quite well . . . my "heat" issues have to do, primarily, with the captured heat under the tupperwear, rather than an engine cooling issue. Where the radiator vents heat is an issue for some, but that has nothing to do with the size of the radiator. Vertika has a floorboard that looks like it resolves the hotfoot issue, well, but is quite expensive . . . I am sure someone else will come up with something more reasonable, in time. We need more air circulation under the tupperware and a lot of the heat issues would be resolved.

MarkLawson
10-17-2013, 07:48 PM
The main heat source under the current Spyders is the routing of the exhaust system. The '14 appears to have addressed that with the exhaust wrapping down the front of the engine and then along the bottom. The relocation and increased capacity of the radiators adds to the total heat management, but was never the main cause of the critical heat problems besides heat on the leg and foot.

Chupaca
10-17-2013, 11:06 PM