PDA

View Full Version : Side to Side sway.

scarecrow
09-20-2013, 03:43 PM
Side to Side sway. straight line two up 40mph and up. It's like riding in a boat wake at slow speeds. Again I'm new to a spyder. Bike is new.
Can't see after spending 25+ on a new bike that I need to put another $600 for new front shocks and $200+ on a sway bar kit.

Wiredux
09-20-2013, 03:49 PM
Side to Side sway. straight line two up 40mph and up. It's like riding in a boat wake at slow speeds. Again I'm new to a spyder. Bike is new.
Can't see after spending 25+ on a new bike that I need to put another $600 for new front shocks and $200+ on a sway bar kit.

What are you riding?

scarecrow
09-20-2013, 04:07 PM
2013 RT-S SE5

SpyderAnn01
09-20-2013, 04:07 PM
Talk to your dealer and have them check the shocks. Also be sure to read the thread about tips for new owners. Are you gripping the handlebars tightly? That will mess up your ride for sure. Good luck

Pennyrick
09-20-2013, 05:21 PM

First check the thread for new owners and digest the advice.

You should be in 2nd gear at 40 mph or maybe in 3rd if you are slowing down. If you are in any higher gear than that your engine may be wobbling on its' mounts from lugging.

Other than that get back to the dealer and have the front end and tires checked for misalignment or misassembly.

Bob Ledford
09-20-2013, 06:57 PM
It seems to be a very common thing with new riders. Being my first Spyder after some 50 years of two wheeling and reverse Y configured machines I did it too.

The problem lays with those things at the end of your arms, called hands. Your subconsciously gripping the handle bars to tightly. Practice just laying your hands lightly on the grips. Periodically remove one hand at a time and shake it out. A Spyder at cruising speed does not require very much pressure to steer it at any speed above stopped......

Additionally there is a file on the forum named new rider info by Illinios Boy that has tons of tips for new Spyder pilots.