PDA

View Full Version : Limp home mode (freaking out!!) :(

dadunston
07-07-2013, 01:24 PM
Hi community,

I haven't rode my ST limited 2013 in about a week, cranked it up; pulled out of the garage and the LCD display showed that my trike was in limp home mode.

Cut the trike off immediately because it freaked me out, cut it back on and it was no longer displayed. Took it out for about a 10 mile trip, cut it off, got gas and it did not come back on and everything seemed to be "A" ok.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

mcaccamise
07-07-2013, 01:44 PM
That was just a test dont worry about it unless it comes back again they can be a bit finiky sometimes if u should have future limp issues see if a code comes up or have the dealer hook it up to Buds.

Wiredux
07-07-2013, 01:45 PM
Are there any active codes?

dadunston
07-07-2013, 01:46 PM
How do you check for active codes? My apologies as I'm a noob to can am!

BikerDoc
07-07-2013, 01:57 PM
press in the mode and set buttons along with the center of the turn signal button at the same time after an incident. If no codes appear then the problem is likely superfluous ..

billybovine
07-07-2013, 02:17 PM
The codes won't be active any more. Drive on and forget it ever happened unless it happens again. Then don't freak out. Limp home mode is there to protect you from danger or the Spyder from damage. Against popular belief it is not a bad thing. There will be other lights on your display and depending on which ones are on will give you a clue on which system has a problem. If that does not help you determine the problem call your dealer.

ARtraveler
07-07-2013, 02:49 PM
Welcome to one of the quirks of the :spyder2:. This does happen sometimes and I always comment that it is the :ani29: computer showing you who is "really" in charge.