PDA

View Full Version : My spyder finally left me strandsd along the roadside

Spyderjockey
06-03-2013, 07:31 AM
I've been riding my Spyder since 2008 and it has never left me stranded until this past week-end. We were coming back from Pennsylvania after visiting my sister who is in a nursing home in Cornwall, Pa. because of advanced Alzheimer disease. It was really hot about 93 degs and we were on I81 and cruising about 70 to 75 mph when we rounded a corner and there ahead of us was a major parking lot of a construction slow down. We traveled probably about 8-10 miles at 3 or 4 miles an hour and many, many complete stops for minutes at a time.

My bike was running between 4 and 5 bars on the temp. gauge and then all of a sudden I smelled anti-freeze ant the temp went to the top minus 1 bar and immediately went into limp mode. I pulled into the median and pulled off some of the tupperware on the right side and discovered a major leak coming from what I discovered later was the "connector" which is basically a bulbous mixing chamber to keep both cylinders at the same temp. I guess.

Anyway I called my insurance company to get someone to pick us up but was not getting anywhere with the person on the phone saying "I'll have to get back with you". I didn't like the sounds of that and since it was going for 7 PM and we were about 140 miles from home. Spyderman990 was with us and I finally convinced him to go on without us since he had at least another hour beyond us to get to his house. I called my son and he came down with his trailer and picked us up at about 9:30 and we were loading the bike in the dark. :banghead: By the time we stopped for something to eat and made the 2+ hour drive home it was almost 1 AM.