PDA

View Full Version : Pulling to the right

Twitty
05-31-2013, 04:19 PM
I'm new to the Spyder. Have a 2013 RTS. Just had the 600 mile service. Told the dealer the handlebar was off center to the right. They gave me a brand new loaner while they serviced mine and I noticed its handle bars were off to the right too. When I picked mine up it was still off, but it was hot and late afternoon, so I thought oh well they're all that way. Today, as I was riding, I noticed it was pulling to the right. Before I call the dealer or carry back to the shop (it is a long way back to the dealer) thought I'd ask if that is normal. Do they all pull a little bit?
Thanks

Ga Blue Knight
05-31-2013, 04:30 PM
First off the handlebars should be centered. Now if you are on a roadway with a high crown you may feel a slight drift to the right as the bike will drift slightly in that direction but this is only a very slight hardly noticeable feel not a pulling to the right. I would go to a flat parking lot, say a school yard or a mall and slowly accelerate with light pressure on the throttle and then just let go keeping your hands near the handle bars for safety. If the bike goes straight there is no issue if it pulls to the right you have an issue. Most likely a dragging brake or miss alignment is the cause. Good luck!

ARtraveler
05-31-2013, 04:36 PM
:welcome: Sorry you are having issues. Pulling to the right does not sound good. The above poster is right on. I am not one of the mechanical experts, but you will surely hear more from them.

Let us know what you find out.

boborgera
05-31-2013, 05:28 PM
When you bring it back [and you should] ask them if they did the ball joint update and did they Aline the front end after they did the ball joints,
Parked On a flat/level surface the bars should be straight....

Bob Ledford
05-31-2013, 07:10 PM