PDA

View Full Version : Bit the Bullet

JacqueTanis
05-29-2013, 11:58 PM
I just sold my Honda Shadow Spirit 750 DC - still have my BMW F650GS - am flying from NM to TX to pick up my new "Angel::ani29: ST Limited next Tuesday then riding around Texas, Oklahoma (as long as there are no tornado's in the area) and New Mexico for 6 days (4 of them on my own). I'm a little nervous but I test drove one last week and fell in love. I figured a week in the saddle would be a great way to "break myself in".

One question - I've read a lot on this forum about an easy learning curve if you're used to ATVs. I was an ATV Saftey Instructor for 7 years and one thing we taught our students was to lean into the curve (butt partially off the seat depending on the curve). So, what do I do with my Spyder? I know it won't handle like my bike - (not the same lean as an ATV anyway) and that I've been told not to power out of the curve. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Sny
05-30-2013, 12:23 AM
There's some threads in the general forum with a lot more information about shifting and what not to do. Search around for them.

A lot of what you know from ATV's apply... but the speeds might feel different.

I prefer power on coming out of a curve as opposed to power off... a little acceleration makes it feel a lot more planted. That said, it's easy to give it too much throttle (the ST throttle seems extremely light to me compared to my cable driven GS).

Be especially careful at low speeds. It can surprise you. I've seen a lot of confident, but new, Spyder pilots do some interesting gymnastics at low speeds.

You will feel more in control if you lean in like you would on an ATV. You can even slip your butt off to one side if you're going for some really hard corners, but I recommend you easy into those after you've got some mileage behind you.