PDA

View Full Version : My first ride on my own Spyder... drenched by rain, but smiling...

Sopher
05-23-2008, 10:31 PM
I got out of work early and I had the option to take her for my first ride to get a inspection sticker. First ride EVER, off the MSF riding course. Mind you I'm a newbie. Got my license in October 07. Since the dealer is some 36 miles north, and a local motocycle shop is just 4 miles away I had 1 hour to get there. I took the spyder to the quiet side street next to my house and rode it up and down a few times to get my MSF riding skills back.
So I took the Spyder by the ranes and drove toward the local shop. 2 miles later, it started to rain! My first ride. My pants got soaked. I stopped under a tree until it let up. I proceeded more during the light rain.

No worries, no slipping, just FUN! :2excited:I really didn't let it bother me. :a18: Hands were wet and cold, my lap was drenched.
So what! I got to the shop, the guys their were impressed and all over it!
I left to go home; more rain. The hot engine was actually confortable with the cold rain.
I figured it was better to learn how she handles in the rain and how I respond.

Not to be corny... but on the way home when the sun came out, a large rainbow appeared. This will make for a rememberable first ride. :bigthumbsup:

Roaddog2
05-23-2008, 10:38 PM
I got out of work early and I had the option to take her for my first ride to get a inspection sticker. First ride EVER, off the MSF riding course. Mind you I'm a newbie. Got my license in October 07. Since the dealer is some 36 miles north, and a local motocycle shop is just 4 miles away I had 1 hour to get there. I took the spyder to the quiet side street next to my house and rode it up and down a few times to get my MSF riding skills back.