PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Seat Passenger Backrest

DoggyDaddy
04-27-2013, 01:49 AM
After reading this forum and others for months I finally picked up a 2012 RT Limited (Lava Bronze) in February. I've got about 1,500 miles (only weekend rides to date) on it and have decided to get the Ultimate Tall boy seat and backrest. I'm planning a long trip through Central and Northern CA with my wife in August (including the Spyders in the Redwoods event) and want the additional "wiggle room" afforded by the Tallboy. What I cannot decide is whether it is worthwhile to also purchase the Ultimate passenger's backrest. I cannot find anything in the forums about the benefits of passenger's backrest. My wife is happy with the stock backrest but if the Ultimate provides additional comfort I may opt for it as well. Any thoughts or suggestions would be much appreciated.

By the way, I've been riding since 1975 and have never had people come up to me and ask questions about a bike/trike like they do with the RT. This machine is a real attention-getter, deservedly so!

Fusionfool
04-27-2013, 04:48 AM
First of all, :welcome:
We have the same :f_spider:, I know the feeling you are having. I am 6'1" and was feeling, well like I needed some leg room, and backrest. I went first for the Utopia backrest. This helped allot and I was able to ride many more miles without pain. Then the leg / foot placement was needed. I went with the Seal Floor boards. You will see they are a sponsor on this site http://www.sealfloorboards.com/. Wow what a difference that made. We now ride easy 12 hr day's without pain. I can not say I could do that on my HD.

Be sure to take some measurements where your wife sits, how much room she needs to be comfortable with cool weather clothes and, or rain gear. 67099 The stock seat with Utopia backrest is tight, but comfortable for the wife. I just needed to put my legs forward, thus the Seal Boards.
Best of luck in your choices, and happy Spydering.

Yelhelp