PDA

View Full Version : final drive ratio

retread
05-08-2008, 10:36 PM
Has anybody got information on pulleys to change the final drive ratio? My #3266 turns almost 6 grand @ 70 mph, seems like I'd get better mileage with a lower numerical gearset. I'm willing to sacrifice some acceleration for better mpg.

bjt
05-09-2008, 05:32 AM
I'm with you on this. If someone comes up with this type of mod, I would seriously consider it.

bjt
05-09-2008, 05:44 AM
Another idea... I'm not a transmission expert or gearhead or anything like that so I'm not even sure if this is really possible or would cause other problems that would make it very undesirable. :dontknow:

The idea - make the 5th gear the size / ratio of what a 6th gear would be. Then make each gear between 1st and 5th a little taller to make up the difference between the old 5th and the new 5th gear. Almost half of my daily commute is at speeds of 45MPH or more where I would use a 6th gear ratio.

Lamonster
05-09-2008, 03:19 PM
I have an idea in my head on how to do a smaller pulley with the stock drive belt. Just need to find the time to make it happen. ::)

joelin
05-09-2008, 06:57 PM
Today I try my new hindle on my bike .I got 5000 rpm at 70 mph it run much smoother and faster . I think maybe
you should try this pipe .

joelin
05-09-2008, 07:54 PM
Think about it ,if you are going upper hill will you get the same rpm with same speed on the road . I don't think so.You need more rpm to reach the same speed . so when you get more HP from the pipe . you will need less rpm to reach the speed . I know the gear will make more different but it will cost a lot more.

Danimal
05-10-2008, 11:51 AM
Yeah - at best the Hindle will just let you get to that RPM quicker.......

I don't really mind the higher revs... this engine seems to like things at 6,000 or more. Anything much under 4,500 and it seems to dog out on you... if you are in 4th or 5th for sure.