PDA

View Full Version : Looking for GPS advice (not for Spyder)

oldgoat
03-12-2013, 10:56 AM
I've never had or used one before & don't want to spend a lot. We are going to NZ later this year & will get maps for there as well as the ones for USA/Canada that will come with it.

No more than $200 & hopefully on sale for $100. (NZ maps extra of course).

Garmin, Magellan or Tom Tom, that is the question.

Map updates for the life of the unit : is it worth it?

Want a 5" screen

Ease of use & features I should have please.

New, used or refurbished off ebay?

I know everyone will have his/her favorite but I'm just looking for info & all replies will be most welcome. I'm a total newbie here.

TIA

oldgoat

cjackg
03-12-2013, 11:03 AM
- Garmin for sure, I have had several over the years and never a problem.
- 5" Screen for sure
- Yes, I once bought a refurb Garmin and it was as good as new.
- The new models like 2460 and 2595 with voice commands are the best GPS yet, and worth the money.
- Lifetime Maps for sure.
- Amazon is usually a good source.

Good Luck!

Cavman
03-12-2013, 12:43 PM
Try FactoryOutletStore.com They have all the brands. I recently bought one of the hand held Megellan units (eXplorist 850) for far less that other online stores including Amazon. I buy a lot of stuff from Amazon so you may get a deal there?

I can't help you with the unit you are looking for, as I use the hand held units for navigation and Geocaching. I own about seven Garmin GPS units. Great customer service if you need it.

bcoulter19
03-12-2013, 01:36 PM
I understand your leaving the country so I understand getting a GPS(I guess). What I don't understand is why people who own a smart phone still purchase a GPS when you can use your smart phone for free and getdirections that are just as good.

oldgoat
03-12-2013, 02:06 PM