PDA

View Full Version : Potentially New Ryder...Advice?

BourbonSpyder
02-03-2013, 09:42 PM
I've been riding bikes of the two wheel variety for about three years now. Ever since the first bike (Suzuki 650) I've had psychological problems with tight turns - we think stemming from a car accident years ago. I've been getting increasingly panicky in a turn or a slope whether its a car or a bike. We just attributed the feeling to nerves from learning, Newbie butterflies, and I could manage to keep them in check because I was having a great time and love the bike!! In short, two bikes later the problem is worse, not better, to the point I haven't ridden in months. My Harley friends (and S/0) love to tease me about my love of the Spyder - and at the Bike Show in November they gave me no end of grief while I was admiring and shamelessly drooling at the Can-Am booth over the ST-S. (The boyfriend had the Spyder Rep demonstrate to me the stability--by putting all his weight on the floorboard and trying to pull it over.)

So... I'm (quietly and secretly) thinking the Spyder just may be the answer to a stress-free ryde.

The first thing I think of is how many places I can go on it that I would Never attempt on my Dyna - just because of nerves and tipping over issues. Slope and gravel would not be a problem...I could have a passenger if I wanted..and just to ride without my stomach in knots cause we're going around a corner, or even going into the gas station would be fantastic. I could ride with the boyfriend again and this time keep up and not be a stress-case at the end of the ride.

I've started looking in want ads, and the forum for a used one. Thinking I can get a great price for my bike, since it's very Low Miles (giggle) and can trade over to the Spyder side...

SO my Question now is: