PDA

View Full Version : Google Maps to Garmin 660

Pennyrick
01-08-2013, 02:18 PM
Has anyone found a way to transfer a Google Maps custom program to the Garmin 660? I followed some instructions from an on line forum on Garmin but could only move the destination and the start point, not the route I wanted to travel.

I contacted Garmin about the insanely difficult 'Basecamp' software they offer for custom mapping but all I got back was an email telling me to pull down their 'help' menu and that didn't offer much help! Basecamp is by far the most difficult software I have ever had to deal with and while I am no expert I know my way around most of this kind of stuff. To use their program you have to mark the route with 'Waypoints' all the way through and unless it is a defined town or city the software ignores the setting. Often I want to take an offbeat road and just go left at another offbeat road where the intersection is not a defined place... Garmin won't let me do that.

Google's idea of letting you just drag the cursor along the roads you want to follow is much, much superior to Garmin's mapping program. There must be a way to get a saved route in Google over to the device that Can Am provided with my Spyder. The device itself only has 'faster', 'shorter', 'highways' and 'tollroads' as choices unless I am missing a hidden place in the menus. None of those options let you select a route on the true back roads of our great country.

lyonsden
01-08-2013, 02:42 PM
Has anyone found a way to transfer a Google Maps custom program to the Garmin 660? I followed some instructions from an on line forum on Garmin but could only move the destination and the start point, not the route I wanted to travel.