PDA

View Full Version : 622 Trailer

Harley
12-17-2012, 06:57 PM
I am considering purchasing a 622 trailer for my 2012 limited, and have a few questions. Does it make a difference in the handling of the Spyder ? I realize it will affect the mpg, but I want to take some long rides this summer, health permitting, and the extra storage sure would be nice. I am new to this game, and need all the advice I can get. Thanks in advance.

Harley & Darlene :dontknow:

SpyderAnn01
12-17-2012, 07:08 PM
I've probably put 25,000 miles on my trailer and I love it. If anything I think it actually improves the handling of the Spyder. They tow great at any speed. Go for it, I think you'll be very pleased.

GadgetGuy442
12-17-2012, 07:11 PM
I am considering purchasing a 622 trailer for my 2012 limited, and have a few questions. Does it make a difference in the handling of the Spyder ? I realize it will affect the mpg, but I want to take some long rides this summer, health permitting, and the extra storage sure would be nice. I am new to this game, and need all the advice I can get. Thanks in advance.

Hi Harley & Darlene,

We've had our RT-622 since May 2010 when we got our RTS, and we've found trailering it to be virtually effortless. We really barely notice it's there, even when fully loaded. Never have had any stability issues - it tracks straight and true to the RTS, even at highway speeds and windy conditions.

You will notice higher RPMs required for shifting up, and your SE5 transmission will downshift at higher RPMs than the "no-trailer" mode. That, and being practiced and slow in your backing maneuvers, and you'll be riding just the same as without the trailer.

We have thoroughly enjoyed having the extra space to bring things along as well as more room to bring new stuff back. My guess is, YOU'LL LOVE IT TOO!!!

All the best,

Bill & Sandy

NancysToy
12-17-2012, 07:24 PM