PDA

View Full Version : UPDATE on "She bugged out on me"

guinness
12-07-2012, 06:33 PM
Just got word back on the RT... Oil Sending Switch went out. I must not be asking them the right question to the Service Department. Was told it just went out. So where did the 3/4 quart of oil go??? I was told they didnt have an answer. It was just in for service, oil changed and I had less than 200 miles since the change. I'm not a mechanic but know BS when I hear it. Wonder if low oil caused this? Anyone want to chime in?

jerpinoy
12-07-2012, 06:43 PM
That's strange, keep asking the questions. They should have the answers, Did you get your RT from them? What is the dealership name?

NancysToy
12-07-2012, 07:20 PM
Low oil won't cause the switch to fail.

Was the oil level checked just after the oil was changed? If not, it may not have been properly filled in the first place. Dealerships usually have a tendency to overfill, but some cut corners, especially if using bulk oil. The only way to accurately gauge oil usage is to check it yourself, following the procedures in the manual, at full operating temperature. It should ideally be checked under similar conditions each time...like after a 30 mile ride in 70 degree weather, for instance. Keep a watch on it, and have the dealer look into it if usage is excessive in the future. Some oil use should be expected. There is a reason BRP calls for checking the oil at frequent intervals. Not to worry, though, a dry sump system can have a pretty low oil level and function normally...although the low level can affect SE5 shifting.

guinness
12-07-2012, 11:30 PM
That's strange, keep asking the questions. They should have the answers, Did you get your RT from them? What is the dealership name?

Lynnwood and yes they have done all my services.

guinness
12-07-2012, 11:36 PM
Low oil won't cause the switch to fail.