PDA

View Full Version : Tell me why you love your RS/GS...

Dynamike
11-17-2012, 07:46 AM
I am purchasing my first Spyder early next year and have always wanted an RSS, however with the addition of the ST models to the lineup, it makes me question which would be better suited for me. It seems as though many spyder owners start on the RS but eventually move up to an RT, or modify their RS to be more comfortable for longer rides.

I have been riding motorcycles for 15 years, over that time I have owned 7 different bikes, most sport bikes. As I get older, that seating position is getting uncomfortable for more than an hour or two ride. I am a weekend rider, I never ride to work.

I like the looks of the RS the most, but the new ST is growing on me.

Please give me your thoughts on your experience with the RS/GS, and the riding position for your height.

I am 5'7".

Phantom888
11-17-2012, 07:57 AM
I have a 09 rs and I am about your same height. I love the sport feel of the stock position but like you said it gets to be a pain after about 45 minutes of riding. I am going to be adding a adjustable 4 inch riser to my spyder this winter to help with that. I'm going with the adjustable so I can change it when I know I'm gonna ride for a distance. If I had the money I would jump on the ST for sure.

NancysToy
11-17-2012, 08:41 AM
Think of it this way, which look appeals to you more...the stock ST or an RS with a large windshield added on, footboards, and handlebar risers? If you need the comfort factors, it is better to get them built in, than to tack on a lot of accessories. JMHO

Paula(Butch2025)
11-17-2012, 09:17 AM