PDA

View Full Version : Temperature Tolerance

Rar
10-09-2012, 07:50 PM
This is my first year ryding and I am sad that this season's days are numbered. Under what temperatures and conditions do you hibernate your Spyder? Do you ever awaken it during a January thaw or the hibernation period?

schnauzermom
10-09-2012, 07:55 PM
We live in a temperate climate here in Western Washington. So, we sometimes get 50 degree days in January. Our temps in the winter are in the 40's, sometimes 30's, rarely gets below freezing. So we keep our bikes hooked up to a trickle charger and try to get them out at least once a month for coffee or something. The Pacific is our heater in the winter and air conditioner in the summer.

Rotaxer
10-09-2012, 07:59 PM
Have been riding still here in Canada, 8*C (46*F) Getting a little cool but with the proper riding gear it is tolerable. Up where I live in the dead of winter it can go from -30* C up 20* C over night. So if there is no snow I will be out Spydering!

warp10
10-09-2012, 08:31 PM
get a heated jacket, use the heated grips and ride when there is no snow on the ground. :yes:

Rar
10-09-2012, 08:37 PM
If the temps moderate, does anyone worry about the salt and/or sand on the roads that accumulate during the winter?

Sarge707
10-09-2012, 08:37 PM
In CT I rode More Last Winter Than in The Heat of the Summer on a GS.
Thermal Suit, Bella Cava, and Heated Grips is All you need and the Spyder runs Cool and Powerful!!!!!!!!!!!
Our Snow is Removed from the roads within 24 Hours- BUT this might not be the case in Many Parts of the US.
I wouldn,t ride on Snow Covered Roads?

2 Cruysyn
10-09-2012, 09:32 PM
This is my first year ryding and I am sad that this season's days are numbered. Under what temperatures and conditions do you hibernate your Spyder? Do you ever awaken it during a January thaw or the hibernation period?

No hibernation here. If the roads are clear I gear up appropriately and enjoy the ryde.

Ga Blue Knight
10-09-2012, 10:05 PM