PDA

View Full Version : how much wind, is too much wind

FlaBound
09-18-2012, 06:25 PM
Been having fun with the new spyder. Mostly on country roads. Keeping it under 50-60mph.
Taking it in for the 600 mi check up tomorrow morning, then heading out for a several hour trip.
I've noticed during the few times I've taken the spyder on the highway, I've been buffeted by wind.
Granted, I'm not very experienced with this machine, but it was a bit disconcerting.
The wind was in the 20mph+/- range.
I quess my question is;
At what point does one avoid high speed driving due to windy conditions?

........Or, at what point should a newbie driver avoid high speed driving in windy conditions?.....

SPYD3R
09-18-2012, 06:39 PM
when you feel uncomfortable.... that's when...

boborgera
09-18-2012, 06:50 PM

I quess my question is;
At what point does one avoid high speed driving due to windy conditions?

........Or, at what point should a newbie driver avoid high speed driving in windy conditions?.....

Not trying to be facetious here, But i think when common sense kicks in,
Or if you start getting white knuckles from holding on to the bars too tight.
The Spyder handles better in high winds with light steering inputs.

Illinois Boy
09-18-2012, 07:00 PM
Thus far you have been given good advice... follow it.

However, just so you know... as you gain more experience, skills, confidence, and comfort in commanding your Spyder... you will be able to handle considerably high winds.

Where I live... 20 MPH winds are common daily. Gusts can hit 50-60 MPH, which do not feel good, but doesn't rattle me as it might have once; so I still ride in winds that are considered fairly high-winds.

So your answer to how high of winds can a Spyder handle... it is higher than 50-60 MPH gusts... that much I know. However, as has been suggested to you... don't exceed your comfort-level until you have spent more time in the saddle.