PDA

View Full Version : New to Bike riding

Derwin
11-11-2007, 11:14 AM
Hello! I am new to all of this. I have NEVER riden a motorcycle in my life, but I have always wanted to. It is just the "danger factor" was just way too high for me. Now with this Spyder coming out, I have reconsider taking the leap.

I have a question, though. Can anybody tell me how this thing rides? Do I need to switch gears with my feet or do anything else that is abnormal to a person who is unfamiliar with this stuff? If so, how difficult is this all to learn?

These questions probably seem incredibly stupid to all of you, but I have to ask. I am so comfortable in my car with an automatic trans, and I don't want to get something if it will be way too difficult to master.

One other question.....how would I go about getting a motorcycle license? I don't have a clue how to ride one. Is there any place that I can get some kind of training that I can take to the secretary of state? I live in Illinois.

Anyway, I hope you guys don't beat up on me for asking these simple questions! :-[

Derwin

2faston3
11-11-2007, 07:27 PM
Derwin: :welcome:

First of all congrats :congrats: on taking the leap towards freedom from the cage!

Riding the Spyder is somwhat similiar to driving a car, in fact if you wait until the fall of 2008 you would be able to buy a Spyder that is fully Automatic, no shifting and no clutch to worry about. In fact I envy you! The feeling of excitment of learning to ride all over again. I get goosebumps just thinking about it.

Speaking of getting your license, I recommennd going to your local college and getting your motorcycle endorsement through a "Rider Training Course" with certified instructors from MSF. Learn to ride the right way.

Starting out this way is the best way, instead of taking years to unlearn all your bad habits from teaching yourself. :redfaced: I did this by becoming a MSF instructor myself. :bigthumbsup: