PDA

View Full Version : New rider in Pearland

Spyder Monkey
07-05-2012, 02:41 PM
Name's David, 41 years old, live in Pearland. I'm an embedded software engineer with a small engineering consulting firm here in Pearland. Married 17 years, one kiddo who turns 12 tomorrow. I'm a fitness buff, I like to run / lift / bicycle and hopefully swim too once they finish the pool at my gym. I'm a super gadget nerd too, love playing with technology. When I get some spare time I'm going to hack into the CAN interface on the Spyder and see if I can liste to the engine management stuff.

Between job, parent, husband, and staying in shape I don't get much time to socialize but I'll try to make it to an event or two. Really sorry I missed the Memorial weekend BBQ with flamingobabe and hotglue. I actually bought my spyder the friday before but did not find out about the gathering until two days later.

Oh yeah, and you probably care about the Spyder too :).
Bought a used 2008 with 21K miles that was loaded with accessories. Has factory hard bags, comfort seat, trunk organizer, tank bag, 12V power outlet, touring windshield, passenger backrest, wind deflectors and extended passenger footrests. Basically almost everything you could buy from the Can-am catalog was put on by the previous owner. Got it for a steal because the previous owner was desperate to sell, $10K.

Took off the wind deflectors and the swapped the original windshield back, I like the wind.

Well that's it. Thought I should at least say an electronic "hello" before I show up at some gathering.

David

d.o.spyder-rts
07-05-2012, 02:59 PM
:welcome:and:congrats:on your spyder purchase. You've found the right place to get answers to any of your questions. Just a suggestion, you might want to be careful trying to hack into the can-am interface. From what I've read on this site, the electronics on the spyder are pretty sensitive. Dale

Spyder Monkey
07-05-2012, 03:03 PM