PDA

View Full Version : Spyder's Power.....Can I keep up?

Kratos
06-04-2012, 10:15 AM
I have become the county celebrity in just 2 days (NO joke). The people here are going nuts over the spyder.....honking at me, letting down their windows and talking to me at red lights, and giving me the thumbs up when driving by. Apparently I'm the only Spyder here (for now).

Well, now the bikers are asking me to ride with them. From harley's to cruisers to sport bikes. Particularly the sport bikes.....will I be able to keep up? Will the detuned Aprilla stay with the sporties or do I need to tell these guys I can't ride with them??

What do you guys feel about the spyder's power in comparison to other bikes? This is my first time on a bike (period), so I have no clue how it compares. Maybe I need to wait on other spyders to get here....LOL

NancysToy
06-04-2012, 10:34 AM
You should be able to stay with the cruisers...or even beat them to the coffee shop. You may have to get your riding technique down pat, and possibly adjust your tire pressure and suspension settings to keep up with the real good riders. Even with Elkas and an aftermarket sway bar you will be hard pressed to keep up with a sport bike in the twisties. As to horsepower, the Spyder is adequate, but it isn't a Busa...don't even try to outrun the big boys on a straight.

boborgera
06-04-2012, 10:39 AM
I have become the county celebrity in just 2 days (NO joke). The people here are going nuts over the spyder.....honking at me, letting down their windows and talking to me at red lights, and giving me the thumbs up when driving by. Apparently I'm the only Spyder here (for now).

Well, now the bikers are asking me to ride with them. From harley's to cruisers to sport bikes. Particularly the sport bikes.....will I be able to keep up? Will the detuned Aprilla stay with the sporties or do I need to tell these guys I can't ride with them??