PDA

View Full Version : Right-Hand Only Spyder?

nsswitzya
01-05-2012, 11:19 PM
Hello – I’m new to Spyderlovers (a Spydertalk user referred me here as a result of the post below on a Spydertalk forum

Here’s most of the post that wound up leading me to Spyderlovers from Spydertalk:

I was wondering if anyone has experience converting a Spyder’s left-handed electronic shifting to something else – A foot switch, perhaps? ( And how might this affect one’s ability to get into reverse? I’ve been riding road motorcycles for many years, but have lost the use of my left hand due to a stroke last year (my left arm is still weak, my left hand/fingers/thumb still don’t work work (a.k.a, paralyzed). My Venture and CBR1000 sadly sit in the garage, since I still don’t have a clutch hand or a left arm strong enough to ride 2 wheels [I even had to trade my upright bicycle for a recumbent] – I hope someday a Spyder will get me riding again, but I don’t know enough about them to know how to approach modifying one so that I can shift {there must be a way…?} (Spyders downshift on their own below a certain RPM as I understand it?)

I suppose that beyond shifting challenges, an even better general question might be, “Are Spyders a viable one-arm/ handed ride?”

Thanks,
Nsswitzya(Dennis)

ARtraveler
01-06-2012, 12:10 AM
Let me be the first to say :welcome: You will find lots of good information here.

You might check out the enabled SL forum for starters.

DragonLorD
01-06-2012, 12:35 AM
:welcome::welcome::welcome:
Answer to your question is yes, there are guys who just mount whole shifter from left to the right handlebar and some vice versa right throtle to the left. Haven't heard anyone transforming SE5 shifter to foot operational though.