PDA

View Full Version : FRS Radios

tuck
12-29-2011, 11:18 AM
Has anyone tried using FRS radios with throat mics for short range communications???

Dustybell
12-29-2011, 12:56 PM
Being brand new, very little time as a passenger and being turned loose as a driver, I wanted to be able to contact hubby. We went the cheaper route as we didn't know how it would all work out. We already had the radios left over from my daughter's livestock showing days at state fair.

At highway speeds, we really couldn't hear each other. Too much static. But from 40mph and below, we could hear each other clear.

So for us, it was usable when cruising through town and stopped but not on the highway. Do like it when we do scenic routes and cruising to new towns as I'm still a little intimated.

Hope this helps some.
Leslie

tuck
12-29-2011, 11:08 PM
Leslie
Thanks for your input
Ed

Phil
12-29-2011, 11:18 PM
Leslie- I'm wondering if the static was really wind noise. It can sound like static.

I'm thinking that an FRS with a noise canceling boom mic or throat mic might work fairly well on open road. I know there are many here that use them all the time. Remember that FRS like CB and GMRS is a shared radio service.

Sent from my iPhone7 using Tapatalk

NancysToy
12-30-2011, 09:36 AM
We haven't had good luck with them, when connected to our Starcom1 comm system. Communications was spotty at best. Part of that was probably our selection of radios, and part was because of the radio location. When hooked to the comm system, they wer pretty well tucked away, with at least one antenna horizontal. I think you may have better luck with the units tucked into your jacket pockets and wired directly to the speakers and mics. Be sure to select radios that are designed for use with auxilliary mics and headsts. Many to not play well with connected accessories.

As an alternative, you might want to consider a wireless comm system such as the Cardo Scala or the Sena.

Dustybell
12-30-2011, 11:33 AM