PDA

View Full Version : New to the Spyder...

fotofrank
12-13-2011, 12:34 PM
I work at a motorcycle dealership and I have the priviledge of selling the Can Am Spyder. I also have the opportunity to ride Spyders occassionally. I took an RS home for the weekend to get familiar with it. Overall it was a great ride. The more I ride Spyders the more I like them.

Anyway, I took the RS on a Toys for Tots ride Sunday. Three things I noticed about this Spyder. 1. The cowling between my knees got pretty hot during the ride. 2. As the motor got hot, at operating temp, I guess, the motor began to miss. 3. This is the worst: the rear brake howled something aweful.

When I brought the RS back to work today, I took it back to service to find out about these squalks. Has anyone else noticed anything like these things I have described? I want to know as much as I can so I can sell them with confidence. Especially to new riders.

FotoFrank

zrc
12-13-2011, 12:40 PM
I am new to the Spyder too, and I have not seen these issues given that I love my spyder correctly! I have not have the heat issue, and I have not had any brake noise except on the 2 occasions I have had the "opportunity" to stop abruptly and bark tires with the ABS. The missing however, I had for the first time this weekend, and I was concerned until I remembered being low on gas as I was leaving the house and adding 2 gallons of low grade fuel to the tank, once I put more high test / known good gas into my fabulous machine I had no more missing. So I think my missing was a gas related issue!

Hope my limited experience helps :)

Bob Denman
12-13-2011, 12:49 PM
They do tend to blow a little heat back at you... http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/28/28_1_10.gif There's lots of relatively inexpensive fixes for it; so it's not a deal-breaker on its own.