PDA

View Full Version : Brand new Spyder - Brakes Rubbing?

SpyderJames
11-15-2011, 04:55 PM
Hey Everyone! I'm brand new around here, just picked up an '11 RS-S last week. I've put 250 miles on it so far and it seems to me like the brake pads are rubbing. I can hear a slight grinding noise if I roll it back and forth with the engine off. And my garage spot is on a slight incline, and if I give it a nudge downhill it'll roll a foot or two then come to a stop on its own. In fact when I'm coasting up to a red light it feels like it slows down faster than just the wind resistance would cause.

I must admit that I'm no expert in motorcycles/cars so I don't know if this is normal on a new bike. I don't have any way to jack it up to see if the wheels spin freely. It's pretty hard to see but it almost looks like the pads are touching the rotors, or at least riiiight there. When I get back into the garage the rotors are pretty warm to the touch. There are some pretty good wear marks already on the rotors, more so on the right front and the rear then the left front. Wheel photos attached.

Can anyone offer me tips on if this is normal for new brakes or if I should have it checked out? Thanks

James

Lamonster
11-15-2011, 05:04 PM
:welcome:
That's normal, they all touch somewhat.

Marker
11-15-2011, 05:06 PM
:welcome:
That's normal, they all touch somewhat.

:agree: And :congrats::welcome:

boborgera
11-15-2011, 06:05 PM
Nomral with disk brakes, All disk brakes, even on cars.

arntufun
11-15-2011, 06:14 PM
I can't believe BRP still has not fixed this issue yet !!! :lecturef_smilie: If it sounds like the video below, your not alone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFdOKWd9bkM&feature=player_detailpage

fastfraser
11-15-2011, 06:28 PM
:welcome::congrats:on your new :spyder2:. I see you already have Glow Riders. Same style I have .

SpyderJames
11-15-2011, 07:45 PM