PDA

View Full Version : Bikes, Blues, BBQ - the Good and the Bad

Dustybell
10-02-2011, 08:50 PM
As some of you know, I'm brand new to riding. Only two months. I haven't ridden behind my husband but about 10 or so times and I was not happy! (Scared) Then he brought home a 2009 RS and I was smitten. Only a month later, we traded it in on a RT-S.

So, the gang decided I needed to go to the rally.

The Good:

We left at 6:30 a.m. Friday morning about 18 or so bikes. 238 miles later we are at Eureka Springs. I successfully did the Pig Trail! Of all the hundreds and hundreds of bikes, we did not meet one spyder. After we got to the motel, I did see 2 RS and 1 RT pass.

Saturday, we split up, one group went to Fayetteville and the group I stayed with stayed in Eureka Springs. A great day. I saw 1 RS and 1 RT and I passed 1 Orbital Blue RT-S (Like me!) pulling a trailer.

If that was you, it was me waving.

I had a blast.

Now the Bad:

We left Sunday morning and were about 20 miles out from Eureka Springs when we met 4 bikes headed into Eureka. We were just coming up a hill and a car had stopped at the bottom. The first three bikes got stopped but the 4th one popped up over the top and had no where to go. I had already passed but in my rear view mirror I saw smoke, dust and a bike in the air with debris flying. My heart just stopped. I topped the hill and stopped to try to stop cars. I didn't turn around as I thought I'd serve more purpose on top. The rest of our gang turned around and stayed with the other group until the EMT's arrived. My husband said he was so close that he could smell the rubber burning when it happened.