PDA

View Full Version : New Member possible New Owner

gfrances12
07-05-2011, 02:45 PM
Hello Everyone,
Looking for some advice, comments on the spyder. I've been riding here in the northeast for about 20+ years. First crotch rockets, then cruisers with my current ride a 2005 HD Softail Deluxe.
The wife and I ride on weekends and rarely do I ride 1 up. As I my years increase I'm realizing more and more the value of comfort over style and sound. Love the look and sound of my HD but realistically I rarely ever ride alone and always have my wife on the back.

So my question, how does the Spyder handle on the hwy crusing at 70-75? I've read reviews that it's a little bumpy and feels unstable at higher speeds. I'm not one to go riding through twistys so cornering isn't really a concern except for when I need to perform an evasive maneuver to avoid the cell phone talkers.

How is the comfort for the passenger and rider? Seating position, etc?

Thank you for your comments.

Gerald

ARtraveler
07-05-2011, 02:50 PM
:welcome: Spyder is great for 2-up riding at the higher speeds.

RTS--for luxury type touring.

RS--for more sporty handling.

A few threads about stability--but problems are experienced by new ryders who have not mastered the machine yet.

A learning curve of 250-500 miles usually takes care of any handling issues you may encounter.

Overcontrolling leads to handling issues.

Florida girl
07-05-2011, 03:19 PM